Banking

Guyana's Development Bank Has G$20 Billion to Lend and a G$3 Million Ceiling. That Is About 6,666 Loans at Full Size.

La Caribena News title card: the Guyana Development Bank's G$40 billion authorised capital, G$20 billion first tranche and G$3 million loan ceiling.
Quick summary: Budget 2026 provided the Guyana Development Bank with G$20 billion, the first tranche of a G$40 billion authorised share capital. The Bank lends up to G$3 million per borrower at zero interest and without collateral. Divided through, the first tranche funds about 6,666 loans at the maximum size.

By LCN Business Desk

A bank that lends at zero interest earns nothing from lending. What it has is what it was given.

What is the Bank capitalised at?

G$40 billion authorised, G$20 billion provided.

Dr Ashni Singh, Senior Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Finance, states in the Government's spread of 5 October 2026 that Budget 2026 made "a dedicated provision for an initial capital injection of $20 billion, representing the first tranche of the bank's $40 billion authorised share capital".

He records in the same document that he piloted the Bill through the National Assembly and signed the Commencement Order. The Act and its commencement were reported in The Guyana Development Bank Act Is in Force.

What does it lend?

A ceiling, no interest and no security. The Bank in fact offers two products, a Quick Loan of up to G$300,000 and the SME Loan of up to G$3,000,000, reported in The Development Bank Has Two Loans, Not One.

TermAs stated
Maximum loanG$3 million
InterestZero
CollateralNone required
Authorised share capitalG$40 billion
Provided in Budget 2026G$20 billion, the first tranche
Application routeA dedicated mobile platform
Sectors namedAgriculture, agro-processing, tourism, tech services; and ecotourism, hospitality, village commerce, light manufacturing

Source: "Guyana Development Bank: Another promise delivered", Department of Public Information, 5 October 2026.

Which of the four accepted documents is attached to a register, and what it does and does not hold, is set out in The Card That Takes You to Barbados Is Also the One the Development Bank Can Read. The President describes the mobile platform as reaching citizens "whether in our riverain areas, hinterland communities, or urban centres". Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce Susan Rodrigues names ecotourism, hospitality, village commerce and light manufacturing. Minister of Public Service Zulfikar Ally encourages borrowers to form partnerships and consortiums so that they can "combine these zero-interest loans into substantial capital, allowing you to establish larger, modern ventures".

How many loans does that buy?

About 6,666 from the first tranche, and about 13,333 if the full authorised capital is provided.

G$20 billion divided by a G$3 million ceiling is 6,666 loans at the maximum size. The full G$40 billion divided the same way is 13,333. Every borrower who takes less than the ceiling raises those counts, and the Bank has not published an average expected loan size.

Those numbers are the arithmetic of the ceiling, not a lending target. What they bound is the scale of the first tranche against the instrument the Bank has chosen.

What does zero interest do to the capital?

It removes the lender's own income from the model.

A commercial lender covers its costs and rebuilds its capital from the margin between what it pays for funds and what it charges. A loan book at zero interest returns principal and nothing more, so the capital available to lend next year is what came back plus whatever is appropriated.

What an applicant must have in hand, and the four steps from applying to being paid, are set out in What You Need Before You Apply and From Application to Money in the Account. The Bank is also described as providing more than money. The President writes that it is "designed as a complete support ecosystem" offering guidance, technical support, business development services, mentorship and capacity-building programmes, and Minister Ally describes hands-on assistance with business plans and financial management. The 5 October spread does not state how those services and the Bank's operating costs are funded.

The pairing of a development loan with commercial money was reported in Guyana Development Bank Pairs G$3M Loans With G$10M Commercial Co-Financing, and the conditions attached to the zero-interest offer in Zero Interest, Ten Million Dollars, and a Condition.

Who is it aimed at?

Entrepreneurs the President names directly, and three priority groups.

The President names "young innovators, single mothers, farmers, and skilled tradesmen", and writes that the facility is "not a grant" but "your opportunity to earn, your opportunity to build your credit". Women, youth and differently abled entrepreneurs were named as priority groups, reported in Women, Youth, and Differently Abled Entrepreneurs Named Priority Groups.

What an applicant has to assemble was set out in Guyana Development Bank Application Roadmap, and the case for how MSMEs should approach the institution in Timothy Tucker's Guyana Development Bank Playbook for MSMEs.

The Bank restricts its own website to visitors in Guyana, reported in The Development Bank's Website Stops at Guyana's Border. The seven directors who will apply these terms, and the offices each of them holds elsewhere, are set out in Guyana's Development Bank Has Seven Directors.

What the title card shows

Every data point on the article's title card, in text.

  • G$40 billion. The Bank's authorised share capital.
  • G$20 billion. The first tranche, provided in Budget 2026.
  • G$3 million. The maximum loan, at zero interest and without collateral.
  • About 6,666 loans. G$20 billion divided by the G$3 million ceiling.
  • About 13,333 loans. The same division against the full G$40 billion.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much capital does the Guyana Development Bank have?

G$40 billion in authorised share capital. Budget 2026 provided G$20 billion as the first tranche, per the Senior Minister with responsibility for Finance.

What are the loan terms?

Up to G$3 million per borrower, at zero interest, with no collateral required, applied for through a dedicated mobile platform.

How many loans does the capital support?

G$20 billion at a G$3 million ceiling is about 6,666 loans at the maximum size, and the full G$40 billion is about 13,333. Borrowers taking less than the ceiling raise those counts. The Bank has not published an average expected loan size.

Which sectors are named?

Agriculture, agro-processing, tourism and tech services by the President, and ecotourism, hospitality, village commerce and light manufacturing by the Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce.

Does the Bank offer anything besides loans?

It is described as a support ecosystem offering guidance, technical support, business development services, mentorship and capacity-building. The 5 October spread does not state how those services and the Bank's operating costs are funded.

Don't miss future stories

Get Caribbean business news and MSME insights delivered to your inbox every Thursday.